British Grand Prix

British Grand Prix Odds 2012

When the Formula 1 World Championship began in 1950, Silverstone held the very first round, won by Guiseppe Farina in an Alfa Romeo. It was thought that 2009 would be the last Grand Prix at Silverstone after they lost the contract to Donnington Park but they have since struggled financially meaning that Silverstone has won a 17-year contract to retain the race.

The 2012 British Grand Prix will be as exciting as ever with all eyes on Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button as they look for a win on home soil, they will have a tough task though with Sebastian Vettel the clear favourite at the moment.

British Grand Prix Result 2012

  1. Mark Webber - Red Bull
  2. Fernando Alonso - Ferrari
  3. Sebastian Vettel - Red Bull
  4. Felipe Massa - Ferrari
  5. Kimi Raikkonen - Lotus
  6. Romain Grosjean - Lotus
  7. Michael Schumacher - Mercedes
  8. Lewis Hamilton - McLaren
  9. Bruno Senna - Williams
  10. Jenson Button - McLaren

British Grand Prix Result 2011

  1. Fernando Alonso - Ferrari
  2. Sebastian Vettel - Red Bul
  3. Mark Webber - Red Bull
  4. Lewis Hamilton - McLaren
  5. Felipe Massa - Ferrari
  6. Nico Rosberg - Mercedes
  7. Sergio Perez - Sauber
  8. Nick Heidfeld - Renault
  9. Michael Schumacher - Mercedes
  10. Jaime Alguersuari - Toro-Rosso

2010 British Grand Prix Result

  1. Mark Webber - Red Bull 
  2. Lewis Hamilton - McLaren
  3. Nico Rosberg - Mercedes
  4. Jenson Button - McLaren
  5. Rubens Barrichello - Williams
  6. Kamui Kobayashi - Sauber
  7. Sebastien Vettel - Red Bull
  8. Adrian Sutil - Force India
  9. Michael Schumacher - Mercedes
  10. Nico Hulkenberg - Williams

The Circuit Details

In 1951 the British Racing Drivers' Club (BRDC) was handed the lease by the RAC, and huge modifications were made to Silverstone. The pits were moved to the straight between Woodcote and Copse, from the Farm straight where they had originally been, and a short circuit was built within the larger circuit, cutting from Becketts corner to Woodcote. In recent years Octagon Motorsports, the leaseholders of the British Grand Prix, have been busy upgrading the track with the BRDC modernising in tandem. The Silverstone track has 60 laps a circuit length of 5.141km and a race distance of 308.355km. The lap record for Silverstone is currently held by Michael Schumacher who clocked 1.18.739 in 2004.

2009 British Grand Prix Result

2008 British Grand Prix Result

1  Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
2  Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber
3  Rubens Barrichello Honda
4  Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari
5  Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes
6  Fernando Alonso Renault
7  Jarno Trulli Toyota
8  Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota