Formula 1 Teams 2011 - McLaren

McLaren is a Formula 1 team that is based in Woking in England  and was formed in 1963 by New Zealand born Bruce McLaren. In 1981 the McLaren team merged with Project Forur Racing who was run by future McLaren Team Boss Ron Dennis. That merger was the signal for success for McLaren who started to win both Constructors and Drivers Championships on a regular basis during that period.

McLaren had drivers during that period such as Niki Lauda, Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna who were some of the great names of their time and pushed the team to success. The Mid-nineties were tough for McLaren and it wasn't until the Finn Mika Hakkinen won back-to-back titles in 1998 and 1999 that McLaren was once again top of the Formula 1 Tree.

Since that success McLaren has stayed at the top end of the Sport and has been fighting with Ferrari for dominance in the Sport. Lewis Hamilton won the World Drivers Championship for McLAren in 2008 which cemented their place among the top teams.

Their current drivers are 2008 World Champion Lewis Hamilton and 2009 world Champion Jenson Button in all British dream team. In a Team shake up long time Team Principal Ron Dennis decided to move upstairs and the new Team Principal is Martin Whitmarsh.

McLaren Record

12 Drivers Championships

8 Constructors Championships

162 Race Victories