Spanish Grand Prix

Spanish Grand Prix Betting 2012 - Maldonado Claims Barcelona Win

The Spanish Grand Prix was first held in Barcelona at the Circuit De Catalunya in 1991 after it moved from its previous location in Jerez. It is a track that the Formula 1 drivers and teams know well as not only has there been a Grand Prix there every year since 1991 but teams also carry out extensive testing at the circuit in the off-season.

It will be a crucial race on Sunday with all the teams coming off of a three week break, several teams have been working on improvements and will be hoping to see the results of that in Barcelona. The home favourite will be Fernando Alonso who will be looking to win his home GP for Ferrari to boost his World Championship chances in what is looking like a tight season.

Spanish Grand Prix Result 2012

  1. Pastor Maldonado - Williams
  2. Fernando Alonso - Ferrari
  3. Kimi Raikkonen - Lotus
  4. Romain Grosjean - Lotus
  5. Kamui Kobayashi - Sauber
  6. Sebastian Vettel - Red Bull
  7. Nico Rosberg - Mercedes
  8. Lewis Hamilton - McLaren
  9. Jenson Button - McLaren
  10. Nico Hulkenberg - Force India

Spanish Grand Prix Result 2010

  1. Mark Webber - Red Bull
  2. Fernando Alonso - Ferrari
  3. Sebastian Vettel - Red Bull
  4. Michael Schumacher - Mercedes
  5. Jenson Button - McLaren
  6. Felipe Massa - Ferrari
  7. Adrian Sutil - Force India
  8. Robert Kubica - Renault
  9. Rubens Barrichello - Williams
  10. Jaime Alguersuari - Toro Rosso

The Circuit Details

While there is really only one overtaking corner on the Circuit, “Elf Corner” Barcelona's mix of high and low-speed corners, plus its abrasive and rather bumpy track surface, makes for a physically and mechanically taxing race. The final two turns, known collectively as New Holland, provide one of the biggest challenges of the season. A fast exit is essential in order to maximise speed down the start-finish straight into Elf. With limited overtaking chances this in turn puts increased importance on getting a good grid position. There are 66 laps, circuit length of 4.629km and a race distance of 305.256km. The current lap record is held by Kimi Raikkonen who clocked 1.21.670 in 2008.

2009 Spanish Grand Prix Result

1 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes 10
2 Rubens Barrichello Brawn-Mercedes 8
3 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 6
4 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 5
5 Fernando Alonso Renault 4
6 Felipe Massa  Ferrari 3
7 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber 2
8 Nico Rosberg  Williams-Toyota 1

2008 Spanish Grand Prix Result

1  Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari
2  Felipe Massa Ferrari
3  Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
4  Robert Kubica BMW Sauber
5  Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault
6  Jenson Button Honda
7  Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota
8  Jarno Trulli Toyota